lausanne jardins 2019

Navigation

jardins

L'Incise

Here, we have made an incision in the ground to read its entrails and reveal its invisible and thriving thickness. As in a pedological cross-section, we have dug a temporary path in the soil of Valency, transformed by humankind for centuries.

Parc de Valency

Cambium

The park’s open ground provides large trees with a rare piece of freedom in the city. Here, their roots spread, stretch out and interweave as they please. Cambium invites us into the intimacy of two majestic beech trees.

Parc de Valency

Bal-ysage

Giant swings appear in strategic points at the top of Parc Valency. Sit down and marvel at one of Lausanne’s most stunning panoramas. Don’t leave your head in the clouds though!

Parc de Valency

Place to live

Weed... Undesired but persistent, it grows in the cracks of several supporting walls on the route of Lausanne Jardins 2019, and a young girl looks after it.

Mur de Montétan

Micro Macro

Strange things are happening in Place Montétan. Extensively maintained, seldom used, it is a haven of peace for all types of residents, and especially for the overgrown wild grass that has reached almost 200 times its usual size.

Square de Montétan

Nature vivante

Nature Vivante (“Living Nature”) reveals the behind-the-scenes by projecting on a stone façade what it is holding back: the ground and its three horizons, i.e. the bedrock, the substratum and the topsoil. A living image, continuously modified by natural processes of erosion, oxidation and decomposition.

Soutènement de Saint-Paul

Bestial!

Humankind has taken possession of the planet. 60% of wildlife species have disappeared in the last forty years, and biodiversity is in danger. But here in Forêt Clochettes, in the heart of the city, the creatures that used to live in the Lausanne area have returned.

Forêt des clochettes

Vanitas

Where does wood go when it dies? In the city, trees rarely reach their potential old age. They are usually felled before they do, often for safety reasons. Vanitas erects a sort of mausoleum for dead wood.

Jardin des souches

Kokedamas

A hanging garden around Cour Galfetti — an ode to the groundless-looking stone verticality. The garden invites passers-by to stop and lift their heads to contemplate the poetry of this Kokedamas cloud floating between heaven and earth. Kokedama is a Japanese oral art, elevated here to a luxuriant chandelier.

Cour Galfetti

Vert de terre

Who dares follow me? Populated with, and hollowed out by billions of earthworms, the city is riddled with tunnels that the eye cannot see, except for this giant specimen here. Slide, disappear and experience the life of a worm in Lausanne to enter their alternative urban world for a moment.

Place Chauderon

9m3

9 m3 is an accusation made by a tree against its condition as a tree in the city. 9m3 is the minimum volume of soil considered as necessary nowadays for its development. It is also the size of the pot that hosts a young plane tree in front of the Chauderon administrative building. On the other side of the underpass, a wooden structure outlines the contour of a similar pot around a hundred-year-old plane tree.

Place Chauderon

Terreau incognito

Place Terreaux is a soilless square. Open ground is absent, kept at bay by underground installations. The loss of connection seems irrevocable. Providing a garden here is providing a fiction, i.e. the fiction of the irruption of nature in the city: islands of greenery emerging at the surface, seeping through the sterile paving stone.

Labyrinthe des Terreaux

Place to live

Weed... Undesired but persistent, it grows in the cracks of several supporting walls on the route of Lausanne Jardins 2019, and a young girl looks after it.

Mur de la route de Bel-Air

Le Verger de la paix

In this small garden, laid out in a steep and unattractive place, now stands a strange memorial to open ground. Silent trees evoke the thirty or so fruit trees that Lausanne is committed to planting every year. Their root network calls for open ground, pretending to fall down into the grates or climbing up towards the light.

Toiture Bel-Air

Un Jardin sur un pont, un pont sous un jardin

First of all, a garden is all about the feelings it triggers and how we use it. For an unusual stroll, let yourself be lulled by optical illusions that create mounds, dells and a winding route.

Trottoir nord du Grand-Pont

L'Eau et vous

A water fountain interrupts the flow of traffic and the flow of our thoughts for a moment. The water erupts from the depths of the urban ground like a force of nature reclaiming its rights.

Croisée de Saint-François

Le Passage végétal

Depriving nearly all of the senses, on first glance a “tunnel” may act as the antithesis of a garden. Le Passage Végétal seeks to transform this unpopular urban space by filling it with a moving pattern of an increasingly medicinal plant that grows on the square at Saint-François.

Passage Saint-François ouest

Futur âge de pierre

Microorganisms were the first living beings to populate the Earth. They shaped and modelled it. Futur âge de pierre invites us into the workshop of Sphingomonas elodea, a bacteria that transforms and sculpts sand into stone.

Eglise Saint-François

Portrait d’un arbre

Eight tall plane trees spurt out of the granite paving on Place Saint-François. Despite the undergound entanglement, a sufficiently generous space remains in the soil to host a ninth tree. It is in this perimeter that after nightfall, the ghostly portrait of the ninth plane tree is projected.

Place Saint-François

La Renaissance du peuplier

Between Aurore, Milo Martin’s statue, and the large poplar, there is a form of complicity, a silent conversation. For her, the poplar would lift mountains. For the moment however, it is mainly lifting the concrete that is cracking at its base: its roots spread towards the sky, and a whole garden has rushed into the cracks.

Placette du peuplier

Place to live

Weed... Undesired but persistent, it grows in the cracks of several supporting walls on the route of Lausanne Jardins 2019, and a young girl looks after it.

Mur de la promenade Derrière-Bourg

La Grande Pimprenelle

It is in the amphitheatre of Promenade Jean-Villard Gilles that La Grande Pimprenelle has naturally put on its costume of dark red petals. Some fifteen perennial plants share the stage. Passers-by, come stroll around here, come and admire the comedy of flowers!

Promenade Jean-Villard-Gilles

Inversion/Racines

The Bellefontaine terrace has an outdated charm, an odd location — perched atop the slab of a car park. Inversion offers a little experience for visitors: the users’ and the plants'place and activities are upturned. When car park users go to the machine to pay for their ticket, the roots that emerge from the ceiling invite them to discover what is happening above.

Terrasse Bellefontaine

Le Point/The Nocturnal Garden/Entrance

To attract the attention and incite passers-by to discover the hidden Bellefontaine garden, a sail unfolds every time the car park’s air vent is activated, like a landmark up in the sky. Up on the terrace, lampshades create dramatic scenes and a small fountain transforms into a bottomless abyss.

Terrasse Bellefontaine

Réveiller les gardiens de la terre endormis

A multitude of clay creatures crawl out of the earth, forming a small, timeless garden. A garden of ruins, fossils and life. Do they bear witness to a past civilisation? Are they the fruit of a magical ritual?

Front garden de Rumine

Parc de l'Amour éternel

Amour éternel addresses the use of the soil: how can we spare this non-renewable resource for the long-term? By imitating mistletoe, a plant that uses other plants to live above ground.

Préau Messidor, Collège de l'Eglantine

Une visite à la famille Mercier

Enter an alternative story, that of Villa Mercier. In the late 19th century, the Mercier family, who owned the plot of land, planned to build a house there. The monumental effect of the installation shows the impact that this real estate development project might have had on the soil, which ultimately remained open and accessible to the public.

Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier

Pranvera

Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier is trapped by its classical identity and unshakeable beauty. For a few months, Pranvera has reinterpreted the park, inventing a new narrative, thanks to a combination of poetic and baroque machines.

Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier

Le Ciné-parc de la terre

Welcome to the Cine-parc de la terre! The film is usually reserved for cars parked in the car park in front of Saint-Jacques Church but exclusively for Lausanne Jardins 2019, human visitors are invited to sit in the cars for a US-style drive-in session. Take a seat, watch and listen to the Earth’s story!

Parvis Saint-Jacques

Place to live

Weed... Undesired but persistent, it grows in the cracks of several supporting walls on the route of Lausanne Jardins 2019, and a young girl looks after it.

Mur de l'avenue du Léman

Place to live

And one more time, the girl from Place to live. The one who takes care of the weed, all along the route of Lausanne Jardins 2019.

Mur de l'avenue du Léman

Echappement fluvial

Whomever has noticed that you cross a waterway at that exact point? Echappement fluvial helps passers-by recon-nect with the river. Thanks to an old device, an ear tube, the murmur of the water climbs up to the level of the pavement to foster sound contemplation.

Vallon de la Vuachère

Le Monuments des petits animaux

A ghost-like structure floats gently above Parc Guillemin. This ethereal form comes from the underground since its creation is based on the cast of six tunnels of abandoned molehills. Emerged and brought to light, this network offers an overview of the labyrinths that run under our feet some 40 centimetres deep.

Parc Guillemin

Le Cadran solaire de la taupe

To celebrate the mole, the Talpa europea, this small, harmless mammal that is so useful to our soil and yet unfairly castigated and fought off, here is a sundial in a wildflower setting that highlights the main points of the animal’s underground work.

Parc Guillemin

Végibus

Climb aboard the Vegibus! Connected to Line 9 on Lausanne’s public transport network like a mobile greenhouse for commuting plants, it travels across all the sites of Lausanne Jardins 2019, from Parc Valency all the way to Parc Guillemin.

Bus n°9

Du Cap à Bonne Espérance - jardin participatif

A car park, dustbins and concrete: welcome to Faverges! Yet, adventurers of all horizons will discover wonders by venturing into this little-known. The installation of green towers, created during a participative landscaping workshop, will help draw attention to this passage and convey the spirit of the district.

Chemin de Bonne Espérance 38

Circulez! - jardin participatif

What if this road, which is usually dedicated to cars with its two traffic lanes and three rows of parking spaces, became an oasis of greenery and a playground? Surrounded by prairie, this temporary square, created during a participative landscaping workshop, offers an environment conducive to chatting and relaxing.

Chemin de la Cassinette 14

Lasagne potagère - jardin participatif

A permaculture mound marks the boundary between the courtyard and the road. By involving schoolchildren in planting the small trees, SPADOM has raised their awareness to the issue of urban agriculture and permaculture, and teamed up with a whole bunch of budding gardeners who will look after what they helped plant!

Collège de l'Eglantine

Drapeaux d'enfants - jardin participatif

A forest of flags painted by children brings Place de la Navigation in Ouchy to life every year, from spring until the following winter. This year, it is based on the theme of soil and gardens.

Place de la navigation

lausanne jardins 2019

Navigation

jardins

L'Incise

Hier nehmen wir einen Einschnitt vor, um im Bauch des Bodens zu lesen und seine unsichtbare und lebendige Tiefe aufzudecken. Wie bei einem Bodenschnitt gräbt man kurzzeitig einen Weg in die Erde von Valency, die durch den Menschen über die Jahrhunderte verändert wurde.

Parc de Valency

Cambium

Der Erdboden des Parks bietet Grossbäumen einen in der Stadt seltenen Freiraum. Hier können sie ihre Wurzeln ausbreiten, ausdehnen, sie nach Belieben ineinander verflechten. Cambium lädt uns zu einem traulichen Zusammensein mit zwei majestätischen Buchen ein.

Parc de Valency

Bal-ysage

Riesenschaukeln tauchen an strategischen Punkten oben im Park von Valency auf. Nehmen Sie Platz und lassen Sie sich beim Betrachten einer der schönsten Aussichten von Lausanne begeistern. Aber aufgepasst: Bleiben Sie mit den Füssen auf dem Boden!

Parc de Valency

Place to live

Das sogenannte Unkraut. Unerwünscht, aber beharrlich wächst es in den Zwischenräumen vieler Stützmauern auf dem Rundgang von Lausanne Jardins 2019, und ein kleines Mädchen kümmert sich darum.

Mur de Montétan

Micro Macro

Lustige Dinge geschehen am Square de Montétan. Dieser wird extensiv bewirtschaftet, ist schwach besiedelt und deshalb ein Zufluchtsort für alle möglichen Bewohner. Und insbesondere für die wilden Gräser, die überproportional gewachsen sind und das Zweihundertfache ihrer üblichen Grösse erreicht haben.

Square de Montétan

Nature vivante

Nature vivante ("Lebendige Natur") zeigt auf, was hinter den Kulissen geschieht, indem sie den Erdboden und dessen drei Horizonte auf die Putzfassade projiziert: das Ausgangsgestein, die Unterschicht und den Oberboden. Ein lebendiges Bild, das durch die natürlichen Erosions-, Oxidations- und Zersetzungsprozesse ständig verändert wird.

Soutènement de Saint-Paul

Bestial!

Der Mensch hat den Planeten in Besitz genommen. 60% der Wildtiere sind in den letzten vierzig Jahren verschwunden. Aber hier, mitten in der Stadt, sind die Tiere, welche einst das Gebiet von Lausanne besiedelten, in den Wald Les Clochettes zurückgekommen.

Forêt des clochettes

Vanitas

Was geschieht mit dem Holz, wenn der Baum stirbt? In der Stadt erreichen die Bäume selten ihr höchst­mögliches Alter. Sie werden vorher gefällt, oft aus Sicherheitsgründen. Vanitas errichtet dem Totholz eine Art Mausoleum.

Jardin des souches

Kokedamas

Ein hängender Garten für den Galfetti-Innenhof als Ode an die steinerne Senkrechte, die bodenlos scheint. Ein Garten, der die Vorübergehenden zu einem Zwischenhalt einlädt, damit sie ihren Kopf heben und die Poesie dieser Kokedama-Wolke betrachten können. Kokedama ist eine japanische Pflanzenkunst, die hier als üppiger Kronleuchter aufgestellt ist.

Cour Galfetti

Vert de terre

Der von Milliarden von Regenwürmern besiedelte und durchlöcherte Stadtboden weist eine Unmenge von Stollen auf, die das Auge nicht sehen kann, von denen es aber hier ein Riesenexemplar gibt. Gleiten, verschwinden: die Erfahrungen eines Lausanner Regenwurms auszuprobieren, heisst für einen Moment, sich diesem alternativen urbanen Universum anzuschliessen.

Place Chauderon

9m3

9m3 lautet die Klage des Baumes gegen die Umstände, die er als Stadtbaum antrifft. 9m3, das ist das minimale Erdvolumen, das heute als für seine Entwicklung nötig angesehen wird. Das ist auch die Grösse des Topfes, der vor dem Verwaltungsgebäude an der Place Chauderon eine junge Platane aufnimmt. Auf der anderen Seite der Unterführung, zeichnet eine Holzkonstruktion die Umrisse eines ähnlichen Topfes für eine hundertjährige Platane nach.

Place Chauderon

Terreau incognito

Auf der Placette des Terreaux findet sich keine Erde, Erdboden gibt es hier nicht. Der Verlust der Verbindung scheint unwider­ruflich. Hier einen Garten vorschlagen bedeutet, eine Fiktion vorzuschlagen, die Fiktion des Eindringens der Natur in die Stadt: Grünpflanzen, die an die Oberfläche streben und die sterile Platte durchdringen.

Labyrinthe des Terreaux

Place to live

Das sogenannte Unkraut. Unerwünscht, aber beharrlich wächst es in den Zwischenräumen vieler Stützmauern auf dem Rundgang von Lausanne Jardins 2019, und ein kleines Mädchen kümmert sich darum.

Mur de la route de Bel-Air

Le Verger de la paix

In diesem kleinen Garten, der an einem steilen und unwirtlichen Ort angelegt ist, erhebt sich nun ein eigenartiges Denkmal für den Erdboden. Diese stillen, weiss gekalkten Bäume spiegeln die etwa dreissig Obstbäume wider, die Lausanne jährlich pflanzen will. Ihr Wurzelsystem verlangt nach Erdboden. Es tut so, als würde es sich in die Lüftungs­gitter hinunter erstrecken oder zum Licht streben.

Toiture Bel-Air

Un Jardin sur un pont, un pont sous un jardin

In einem Garten geht es vor allem um die Emotionen, die er weckt, den Nutzen, den wir daraus ziehen. Lassen Sie sich für einen witzigen Spaziergang etwas vorgaukeln: optische Illusionen wie Hügel, Täler und einen gewundenen Weg.

Trottoir nord du Grand-Pont

L'Eau et vous

Ein Wasserstrahl, der für einen Moment den Verkehrs- und unseren Gedankenfluss unterbricht. Das aus den Tiefen des städtischen Bodens sprudelnde Wasser, das als Naturgewalt seine Rechte plötzlich zurückholt.

Croisée de Saint-François

Le Passage végétal

Da er unsere Sinne wenig anspricht, scheint ein «Tunnel» das Gegenteil eines Gartens zu sein. Der Passage Végétal verfolgt das Ziel, diesen eigentlich unerwünschten Raum zu verändern. Der Untergrund wird mit Motiven gefüllt, die das Marrubium vulgare stilisieren.

Passage Saint-François ouest

Futur âge de pierre

Mikroorganismen sind die ersten Lebewesen, die unseren Planeten bevölkert haben. Sie haben ihn bearbeitet und gestaltet. Futur âge de pierre lädt uns ein in der Werkstatt von Sphingonomas elodea, einem Bakterium, das Sand zu Stein verfestigt.

Eglise Saint-François

Portrait d’un arbre

Acht grosse Platanen ragen aus dem Granitpflaster der Place Saint-François. Inmitten das unterirdischen Gewirrs verbleibt noch ausreichend Erdboden, um einen neunten Baum aufzunehmen. In diesem Bereich wird nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit das Phantombild dieser neunten Platane projiziert.

Place Saint-François

La Renaissance du peuplier

Zwischen die große Pappel und Aurore, der Statue von Milo Martin, gibt es eine Art Komplizenschaft, einen stillen Dialog. Für sie würde der Baum Berge versetzen. Im Moment hebt er aber vor allem die Asphaltdecke, die zu seinen Füssen rissig ist: Seine Wurzeln streben zum Himmel, und ein ganzer Garten drängt sich im Riss.

Placette du peuplier

Place to live

Das sogenannte Unkraut. Unerwünscht, aber beharrlich wächst es in den Zwischenräumen vieler Stützmauern auf dem Rundgang von Lausanne Jardins 2019, und ein kleines Mädchen kümmert sich darum.

Mur de la promenade Derrière-Bourg

La Grande Pimprenelle

Im Amphitheater an der Promenade Jean-Villard Gilles, schlüpft die Grosse Pimpinelle ganz natürlich in ihr Kostüm aus dunkelroten Blättern. Rund fünfzehn Stauden teilen sich die Bühne. Spaziergänger, spaziert hier hindurch, kommt und bewundert das Lustspiel der Blumen!

Promenade Jean-Villard-Gilles

Inversion/Racines

Die Terrasse de Bellefontaine hat einen altmodischen Charme, eine unpassende Lage - auf der Platte eines Parkplatzes. Inversion schlägt dem Besucher ein kleines Experiment vor: hier verschieben sich die Nutzungen und der Platz der Benutzer und die Vegetation. Wenn die Benutzer des Parkhauses Bellefontaine an die Kasse gehen, sehen sie Wurzeln, die über ihren Köpfen aus der Decke hervorbrechen und laden Sie ein zu entdecken, was oben passiert.

Terrasse Bellefontaine

Le Point/The Nocturnal Garden/Entrance

Um Aufmerksamkeit zu erregen, Passanten zu ermutigen, den versteckten Bellefontaine Garten zu entdecken, entfaltet sich bei jeder Aktivierung der Parkhauslüftung ein Segel wie ein Zeichen am Himmel. Auf der Terrasse, die Reflektoren kreieren kleine Szenen mit einem theatralischen Spiel zwischen Licht und Natur und der kleine Brunnen verwandelt sich in einen bodenlosen Abgrund.

Terrasse Bellefontaine

Réveiller les gardiens de la terre endormis

Eine Vielzahl von Tonfiguren schleicht sich an, taucht aus der Erde auf und bildet einen kleinen, zeitlosen Garten. Ein Garten voller Ruinen, Fossilien und Leben. Sind dies Zeugen einer vergan­genen Zivilisation? Die Frucht eines magischen Rituals?

Front garden de Rumine

Parc de l'Amour éternel

L'Amour éternel hinterfragt die Nutzung des Bodens: wie kann man diese nicht erneuerbare Ressource nachhaltig schonen? Durch das Nachahmen der Mistel, dieser Pflanze, die andere Pflanzen nutzt, um ohne Erde zu leben.

Préau Messidor, Collège de l'Eglantine

Une visite à la famille Mercier

Treten Sie ein in eine alternative Geschichte, die der Villa Mercier. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts plante die Familie Mercier, Eigentümerin des Grundstücks, dort eine Residenz zu bauen. Die monumentale Wirkung dieser Installation zeigt, welche Auswirkungen das Bauvorhaben an dieser Stelle gehabt hätte, die letztlich offen und für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich blieb.

Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier

Pranvera

Die Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier verharrt in ihrer klassischen Identität und unerschütterlichen Schönheit. Wie kann man diese verschlafene Szenerie stören? Für einige Monate interpretiert Pranvera den Park neu und erfindet für ihn dank einer Kombination von poetischen und eigenartigen Gerätschaften eine neue Geschichte.

Promenade Jean-Jacques Mercier

Le Ciné-parc de la terre

Willkommen im Kino-Park auf der Erde! Der Film ist in der Regel für Autos reserviert, aber exklusiv für Lausanne Jardins 2019 sind die menschlichen Besucher eingeladen, sich für eine Drive-in-Vorstel­lung à l’américaine in die Autos zu setzen. Nehmen Sie Platz, schauen Sie und hören Sie sich die Geschichte der Erde an!

Parvis Saint-Jacques

Place to live

Das sogenannte Unkraut. Unerwünscht, aber beharrlich wächst es in den Zwischenräumen vieler Stützmauern auf dem Rundgang von Lausanne Jardins 2019, und ein kleines Mädchen kümmert sich darum.

Mur de l'avenue du Léman

Place to live

Und noch ein letztes Mal, das Mädchen von Place to live, das sich auf dem Rundgang von Lausanne Jardins 2019 um das Unkraut kümmert.

Mur de l'avenue du Léman

Echappement fluvial

Wer merkt, dass er an diesem Ort einen Wasserlauf überquert? Echappement fluvial bietet Passanten die Möglichkeit, mit dem Fluss wieder in Verbindung zu treten. Dank eines alten Gerätes, des Hörrohrs, steigt das Rauschen des Wassers bis zum Trottoir hinauf, wo es einen akustischen Kontakt ermöglicht.

Vallon de la Vuachère

Le Monuments des petits animaux

Eine gespenstische Einrichtung schwebt über dem Park Guillemin. Diese luftige Gestalt stammt jedoch aus dem Untergrund, da sie aus dem Abguss von sechs verlassenen Maulwurftunnels entstand. An die Oberfläche gebracht und dem Licht ausgesetzt, gibt diese Verflechtung einen Einblick in das Labyrinth, das unter unseren Füssen in einer Tiefe von etwa 40 Zentimetern verläuft.

Parc Guillemin

Le Cadran solaire de la taupe

Um den Maulwurf Talpa europea zu würdigen, ein kleines Säugetier, das harmlos und nützlich für unsere Böden ist, zu Unrecht verrufen und bekämpft, begleitet hier, in einer hübschen Anlage mit Wiesenblumen, eine Sonnenuhr die Höhepunkte seiner Untergrundarbeit.

Parc Guillemin

Végibus

Steigen Sie ein in den Végibus! Wie ein mobiles Gewächshaus für Ranken an die Linie 9 der Lausanner Verkehrsbetriebe gekuppelt, fährt er zu allen Stationen von Lausanne Jardins 2019, vom Park Valency bis zum Park Guillemin.

Bus n°9

Du Cap à Bonne Espérance - jardin participatif

A car park, dustbins and concrete: welcome to Faverges! Yet, adventurers of all horizons will discover wonders by venturing into this little-known. The installation of green towers, created during a participative landscaping workshop, will help draw attention to this passage and convey the spirit of the district.

Chemin de Bonne Espérance 38

Circulez! - jardin participatif

What if this road, which is usually dedicated to cars with its two traffic lanes and three rows of parking spaces, became an oasis of greenery and a playground? Surrounded by prairie, this temporary square, created during a participative landscaping workshop, offers an environment conducive to chatting and relaxing.

Chemin de la Cassinette 14

Lasagne potagère - jardin participatif

A permaculture mound marks the boundary between the courtyard and the road. By involving schoolchildren in planting the small trees, SPADOM has raised their awareness to the issue of urban agriculture and permaculture, and teamed up with a whole bunch of budding gardeners who will look after what they helped plant!!

Collège de l'Eglantine

Drapeaux d'enfants - jardin participatif

A forest of flags painted by children brings Place de la Navigation in Ouchy to life every year, from spring until the following winter. This year, it is based on the theme of soil and gardens.

Place de la navigation