lausanne jardins 2019

Navigation

9m3

Place Chauderon

9 m3 is an accusation made by a tree, a rebellion against its condition as a tree in the city. Nine cubic metres is the minimum volume of soil considered as necessary nowadays for its development. It is also the size of the pot that hosts a young plane tree in front of the Chauderon administrative building. 

On the other side of the underpass, on the east-side of the square, a wooden structure outlines the contour of a similar pot around a hundred-year-old plane tree. Scattered on the ground, shards symbolise a pot that has exploded under pressure from the roots, and transformed into urban furniture for passers-by to stop for a moment and admire the majestic old tree. 

The scale ratio between the 9 m3 provided for a young tree and the development of a tree whose size and roots network — which spreads and appears here and there under the concrete — shows how much it has grown under a less restrictive regime and raises the issue of the condition of trees in an urban setting. 

Visitors are called upon to suggest the ideal site to welcome the young plane tree in open ground after Lausanne Jardins. Suggestions may be addressed to parcs.domaines@lausanne.ch with the subject: LJ19-Platane.

Authors

Service des parcs et domaines sur une idée de :
Luciano Dell’Orefice, designer (CH)
Yves Bonard, urbaniste (CH)
Julien Rémy, architecte paysagiste (CH)

Partners & Implementation

Jérôme Vial (menuisier)
Service des parcs et domaines

List of Plants and Materials

Platane, Platanus orientalis

lausanne jardins 2019

Navigation

9m3

Place Chauderon

9m3 est une accusation portée par l’arbre, une révolte contre sa condition d’arbre en ville. 9m3, c’est le volume de terre minimum considéré aujourd’hui comme nécessaire à son développement. C’est aussi la taille du pot qui accueille un jeune platane, devant le bâti- ment administratif de Chauderon. 

De l’autre côté du passage sous-voie, à l’est de la place, une structure en bois dessine les contours d’un pot similaire autour d’un platane centenaire. Répandus sur le sol, des tessons symbolisent l’éclatement du pot sous la pression des racines et se transforment en mobilier urbain, pour s’arrêter un instant et admirer le majestueux vieillard. 

Sa taille et son système racinaire, qui court et affleure ici et là sous le béton, montrent qu’il a grandi sous un régime moins restrictif que les 9m3 offerts. Ce rapport d’échelle ouvre le débat sur la condition de l’arbre en milieu urbain. 

Les visiteuses et visiteurs sont invités à proposer un site idéal en pleine terre permettant d’accueillir le jeune platane après la fin de Lausanne Jardins. Suggestions de sites à envoyer à parcs.domaines@lausanne.ch avec pour objet : LJ19-Platane.

Auteur/trice-s

Service des parcs et domaines sur une idée de :
Luciano Dell’Orefice, designer (CH)
Yves Bonard, urbaniste (CH)
Julien Rémy, architecte paysagiste (CH)

Partenaires et mise en œuvre

Jérôme Vial (menuisier)
Service des parcs et domaines

Liste des plantes et matériaux

Platane, Platanus orientalis